Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
Shopping Cart
HomeDistinguished Service to Australian Sociology Award
To modify this page, paste in the URL of the banner image. Get the banner image URL from clicking the clipboard icon in web graphics manager. Search for images in the "banner" category.

To modify the links on the right hand side, right click on the link and select "change link" from the popup context menu. The link will automatically format to have the arrow.

You may also use a submenu widget here instead of manual links. The awards pages names were too long for the submenu widget - page names have a maximum character length of 26 characters.

To change the image in the gray row (beneath the text) right click on the image, and choose "change image" from the context menu.

All other text should be selected and retyped.
Image 1 URL //
Image 1 URL //

Distinguished Service to Australian Sociology Award

This award is made to a TASA member who has demonstrated outstanding, significant and sustained service to Australian sociology over many years. While not necessarily a lifetime achievement award, candidates for the Distinguished Service Award would usually be nearing the end of their careers.

In this context, outstanding service may take the form of one or more of the following:

  • contribution to the teaching and scholarship of sociology in Australia
  • advancing international appreciation of sociology in Australia through research and publications
  • involvement as a recognised sociologist in the public arena; for example, in policy development, administration, public debate or service to the community in a voluntary capacity

In all cases the quality of the service is the determining criterion, rather than the quantity alone.

Email nominations to by June 15th. All applicants will be advised of the award outcome in early August. 

Accordion Widget
Recipients of the Award
Recipients of the Award
2020: Roberta Julian
Roberta Julian

2018: David Rowe
Recipient of the 2018 Distinguished service award, David Rowe
2018 Recipient David Rowe with TASA president Dan Woodman

2017: Professor Johanna Wyn
Joanna and Dan

2014: Emeritus Professor Riaz Hassan
Riaz Hassan

2013: Professor Evan Willis: acceptance speech
Evan Willis

2013: Emeritus Professor Gary Bouma: acceptance speech
Gary Bouma

2007: Professor Raewyn Connell

2004: Katy Richmond

2000: Dr Cora Baldock

1996: Emeritus Professor Lois Bryson (inaugural recipient)

1996: Emertius Professor John Western (inaugural recipient)

Accordion Widget

No more than one Award will be made each year, unless there are unusual and compelling reasons to make two Awards.

It is not necessary to make an Award every year, and it is to be expected that there will be many years when an Award is not made.

The Award will comprise an engraved plaque and certificate. Recipients will be invited to write an opinion piece about some aspect of their work for publication in Nexus, TASA Blog, Journal of Sociology or Health Sociology Review, or any other journal TASA may sponsor at the time of the Award. A list of Award winners will be maintained on the TASA web site.

The Executive will call for nominations each year, with nominations closing 15th June. The Award will be presented at the TASA Conference in November. This time schedule may be altered in any year at the discretion of the Executive. Recipients shall be offered the same assistance as other TASA prize winners to enable them to attend the prize presentation. The complimentary conference registration and dinner is not transferable (ie. only valid in the year of the Award).

The written nomination must be signed by five TASA members. Nominations must show how the nominee meets the selection criteria outlined above and must be accompanied by a focused curriculum vitae of the nominee and the names of three referees. The nominee must be a TASA member.

Nominations will be considered by the Executive as a whole. At its discretion the Executive may assign this task to a sub-committee chaired by the President or Vice-President, with the decision to be ratified by the whole Executive.

The Distinguished Service Award process will be covered by the TASA grievance procedures. Apart from this, the Executive’s decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.


From left, Evan Willis (recipient of the 2013 Distinguished Service to Australian Sociology Award), Kirsten MacLean (Conference MC), Xiaoying Qi (2013 JMA recipient), Adam Possamai (2013 JMA Chair), Eileen Clark (2013 recipient of the Outstanding Service to TASA Award), Jo Lindsay (2012/2013 TASA President), & Gary Bouma (recipient of the 2013 Distinguished Service to Australian Sociology Award).

Awards, Prizes & Funding